Massacre at Caddo Parish

 

Located in Shreveport, LA, you would think from their web site that Caddo Parish Animal Control was very concerned about the welfare of the animals:

http://www.caddopets.com/
Our goal at the shelter is to give each animal the love and affection that it may have been denied

They seem so very friendly and helpful:

http://www.caddopets.com/about-hours-fees.cfm
Don't hesitate to call or come see us. Remember, you have a friend at the shelter.

Their even looking for foster homes so that they can save more animals:

*****Please note that this was posted on 05/07/08*****

http://www.caddopets.com/showEvent.cfm?id=9
FOSTER CARE DESPERATELY NEEDED! PLEASE HELP! !
Foster homes are NEEDED!! Large and small breeds. Several dogs are being treated for heartworms and they need special care for thirty plus days. We hope to rescue or place them into permanant homes after treatment. Please help!

Then why are they killing all of the animals?

Between 5-5-08, and 5-16-08, they euthanized over 300 animals. On 5-13-08 they euthanized 78 animals that one day. They use no sedation, and frequently not the right dosage, as animals are found alive in the freezer, quite often. The same person does the euthanasia.

I was told that there was a cat and her kittens that were euthanized right in their kennel, and just left there, and are still there!

There is a small "Benji" type puppy that rescue was told would be put down because of parvo. When it was pointed out that there is no parvo there, and the puppy is not sick, they said that the puppy was not friendly, and could not be adopted.

There is a mama mixed breed dog (approx 30 lbs) and her 5 week old puppy who are under orders to be put down, for no apparent reason.

There is a Pit puppy there under orders to be killed because it is a Pit.

The order is in from the shelter director, that no more dogs will be treated at the vet. If a dog gets sick, it gets euthanized.

And it doesn't look like things are going to get better any time soon if current management has anything to do with it:

They recently interviewed for a new rescue/adoption coordinator. A local rescuer there who is very familiar with all of the workings of the shelter and was trained on a volunteer basis by Annette Lewis to be prepared to accept this job if it was offered was one of the people who was interviewed.

She was denied the position solely because of her previous role in trying to get the shelter on a good track, and was told that they were afraid that if she saw something she didn't like, she would engage in activities of this type again!

Help us do something to change how things are operating at Caddo Parish Animal Control.

You can sign a petition asking that an investigation is done to look at the new policies that have been put in place with the new manager by going to:

www.thepetitionsite.com/13/stop-the-killing-at-Caddo-Parish  

- AND -

Below you will find a list of contact information for all of the key players.  Please send them an email or call them and let them know how you feel.

Caddo Parish Major Players

Name
Title
Email address
Tel. No.


Matthew Pepper
Director Caddo Parrish Animal Control
mpepper@caddo.org
226-6627

Woody Wilson
Parish Administrator
wwilson@caddo.org
318-226-6901

Randy M. Lucky
Asst. Par. Administrator
rlucky@caddo.org
318-226-6900

Karen K. Bell
Exec. Sec./Complaints
kbell@caddo.org
318-226-6900

Anita Mills
Media Relations
amills@caddo.org
318-429-7644

Thelma Williams
Information
twilliams@caddo.org
318-226-6900

Douglas Dominick
Dist. 1 Commissioner
ddominick@caddo.org
318-375-2356

Rose McCulloch
Dist. 2 Commissioner
rmcculloch@caddo.org
318-227-0803

Carl A. Pierson Sr.
Dist. 3 Commissioner/Pres.
cpierson@caddo.org
318-222-0132

Matthew Linn
Dist. 4 Commissioner
mlinn@caddo.org
318-402-1132

Sam L. Jenkins Jr.
Dist. 5 Commissioner
sjenkins@caddo.org
318-631-1608

Herschel Brown
Dist. 6 Commissioner
hbrown@caddo.org
318-687-7097

Stephanie Lynch
Dist. 7 Commissioner/V.P.
slynch@caddo.org
318-636-1819

John Escude
Dist. 8 Commissioner/Parliamentarian
jescude@caddo.org
318-861-1131

Michael Thibodeaux
Dist. 9 Comm.
mthibodeaux@caddo.org
318-797-6511

David Cox
Dist. 10 Commissioner/Pres.
dcox@caddo.org
318-687-3127

Jim Smith
Dist. 11 Commissioner
jsmith@caddo.org
318-686-7146

Kenneth Epperson
Dist. 12 Commissioner
kepperson@caddo.org
318-773-2654

Jerry Spears
Commission Clerk
jspears@caddo.org
318-226-6596

Tim Weaver
Director
tweaver@caddo.org
318-226-6627

Brandon Daniel
PR Specialist
bdaniel@caddo.org
318-226-6624

Martha Van Horn
Robinsonís Rescue
marthafritz@aol.com
318-869-2715

State Animal Control Association
Louisiana Animal Control Association
David Marcantel, President
c/o Calcasieu Parish Animal Control
5500-A Swift Plant Rd.
Lake Charles, LA 70615
337-439-8879
E-mail: dmarcantel@cppj.net
website: www.lacainfo.org